Saturday, August 18, 2018


Glossary Search
  1. Match Words by:

Search Alphabetically:
0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | View All
Care receiver

Beneficiary of care and services provided by another person.


Individual who provides care, services and support to another person.

Case Management

Case management is a service that helps people with disabilities to coordinate all of their services. A Case Manager is the person manages this process.

Centers for Independent Living

Non-residential places of action and coalition where persons with disabilities learn empowerment and develop the skills necessary to make lifestyle choices. Centers work with individuals and local communities to remove barriers to independence and ensure equality of persons with disabilities.


Medicare and Medicaid will only cover government agencies that are certified by law. To become certified certain health care providers (hospitals, home health agencies, nursing homes and dialysis facilities) are required to pass certain standards that are evaluated by a state government agency. Being certified is not the same as being accredited.

Certified Nurse Aide

(CNA) A Nurse Aide who has taken special training and passed proficiency testing. The certification is given by the state and entitles them to work in a facility or private home.

Chore Services

Non-continuous household maintenance tasks intended to increase the safety of the resident. Tasks may include replacing fuses, light bulbs, electric plugs, door locks, window latches, or faucets, installing safety equipment, screens and storm windows, weather stripping around doors, window shades and curtain rods, household repair tasks, pest control, mowing of lawns, leaf raking, trimming overhanging tree branches, gardening, clearing of ice and snow and pet care.


The CMS or Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services is a federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). It oversees the Medicare, Medicaid, State Childrens Health Insurance Program and the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPPA).

Community Action Program

Also known as community action agencies, these agencies are local private and public non-profit organizations that work to empower people of low income. Typical activities include promoting citizen participation, providing utility bill assistance, home weatherization for low-income individuals, administration of Head Start pre-school programs, job training, operation of food pantries and coordination of community initiatives.

Community Support Provider

Community Support Providers are not-for-profit community agencies certified by the South Dakota Department of Human Services to provide a full range of services and support to help meet the needs and desires of individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities, as well as their families. The agencies are governed by local Boards of Directors and are required to meet established standards in order to be certified by the State of South Dakota.


The mental ability to understand problems and make decisions.


One appointed by the Court to be responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of a minor or protected person.


Bowel or bladder control

Continuing Care Retirement Communities

Continuing Care Retirement Communities (CCRC) combine independent living, assisted living, and a nursing facility under one roof.

Continuous Care

Home care services that are provided on an extended basis.

Convalescent Homes

See Skilled Nursing Facilities

Countable Income

The net income figure after out-of-pocket medical costs have been deducted.

Countable Resources

A resource is defined as any item of value that a person owns, such as bank accounts, land, vehicles, personal property, etc. Countable resources are those resources that are not exempted when calculating eligibility.

Custodial Care

Care that primarily deals with activities of daily living like bathing, dressing, and supervision.